Ending or Beginning?

Excuse me while I ramble a bit.

My writing of the Aiella novel, provisionally and imaginatively titled Aiella, has reached the point where it is apparently substantially complete (at 144,000 words), and has been revised and edited as best as I can, and is on the point of being released to beta readers (a topic I will return to in a later post).

But. I use the word apparently above because I am not entirely happy with the ending … so I began writing an additional chapter, following on. But from the moment I began writing it I was plagued by doubt … was this really the story for the final chapter, or was it the opening chapter of the next book?

This doubt has, inevitably, bled into the writing. If it is Chapter 15 of Aiella, then it ought be written like that, with the tone and style of an ending, but if it is in fact Chapter One of a whole new book, (which I do have a vague storyline for) then the writing would be different. More openy, and less endy. But since I can’t make up my mind, it is hampering things, and making it strained and stilted. For one thing, the end of the story would perhaps need to happen at a different point, depending which it was.

I’m inclined to think it works better as an opener, as it is a bit static and descriptive, but that leaves the problem of the slightly flat ending to the novel unsolved.

So … I don’t know. I thought perhaps if I wrote the problem down and rambled about it a bit it might clarify matters, but maybe not.

H’m.

OK, ramble over. Please return to your normal Thursdays.

2 thoughts on “Ending or Beginning?

  1. If you are thinking about release to beta, then I think you should do it. Don’t worry too much about whether the ending feels flat or not, but make it a specific question that you would like your beta readers to consider. You are are likely to get a lot of feedback, and in addressing this you may decide that the current ending is actually fit for purpose, or you might decide that you want to rewrite it substantially anyway.

    Either way – GOOD LUCK.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

